Breast implants, breast prosthesis, breast enhancement, augmentation mammoplasty, boob job

Breast augmentation is a surgical procedure that aims to increase breast volume and beautify the breast. It enhances not only its size but also improves its shape, fullness and firmness, setting a woman’s breasts in balance and proportion with the rest of her body. This is one of the most performed interventions in cosmetic surgery, with a very high satisfaction rate.

Good candidates for breast augmentation are:
– Women with breast hypotrophy (small breasts) after their puberty
– Patients with breast malformation or asymmetry (eg, tuberous breasts)
– Women who have « empty » breasts following a significant weight loss or after pregnancy.
– Women who want a more harmonious and attractive silhouette, who will feel more comfortable and better after such a procedure.

To date, we have three effective methods to perform a breast augmentation:

1- Breast implants
2- Autologous fat transfer (lipofilling)
3- The composite technique

In some cases, some associated procedures can be done at the same time, such as a breast lift (for sagging breasts), lipoaspiration of the axillary region (fat excess or ectopic axillary gland) or a change in the size of the nipple or areola.

TECHNIQUES

Augmentation with breast implants

Breast implants differ in:

Their shape: round or anatomical (drop or pear shape)
Their envelope: smooth, textured or polyurethane foam
Their content: silicone gel, physiological saline or light silicone (B-lite)
Their volume: variable according to the desired result and the anatomy of the patient

They can be placed in front or behind the pectoralis muscle, as well as in a combination of these two planes (Plan Dual). The procedure can be performed from an incision under the breast (sub-mammary), the lower border of the areola or in the armpit.

Each choice of implant type, its location and scar placement has advantages and disadvantages. All these different possibilities will be explained to you by your surgeon, who will guide you to make the best choice according to your desired result, health status and anatomy.
Implants are subject to physical constraints and might need to be replaced at some point. This duration can be very variable (usually 10-15 years) but a prophylactic implant change is no longer recommended with the use of the last generation of prothesis.

The autologous enhancement by fat transfer or lipofilling

This technique enables to increase your breast volume moderately (maximum one cup increase per session) with your own fat and without the use of any foreign body. Ideally, the goal is to harmonize a poorly proportioned body, decreasing any excess fat and increasing the volume of the breasts. It involves a liposuction on the areas with an excess of fat (abdomen, thighs, flanks, …) and reinjection of the fat obtained into the breast. After an initial resorption phase (3 months), the fat that survives is integrated into the tissues forever. Depending on the desired volume, several sessions may be necessary.

Compared with implant augmentation, lipofilling has the following advantages:
– No prosthesis, so no need for implant change
– Very natural result
– Minimal scaring
– Great versatility to correct existing asymmetries
– Harmonization of the silhouette (benefit comparable to liposuction)

Its disadvantages are:
– Maximum of one half to a cup size gain per session
– Variability of the result according to the rate of resorption (approximately 40%)
– Requires a good donor area
– Requires postoperative radiological follow-up

The composite technique of breast augmentation

This last technique combines the two previous ones and gives very natural but at the same time very impressive results in a single stage. A moderate sized implant is used to give most of the volume and to project the breasts up and forward. The fat will serve to hide these implants and give the natural look to the chest. It is a safe and highly reliable technique, less dependent on fat resorption compared with isolated lipofilling.

TYPE OF ANESTHESIA

Usually general anesthesia is recommended, although local anesthesia with intravenous sedation is possible in some cases

DURATION OF THE INTERVENTION

1 to 2h

TYPE OF STAY

Ambulatory or 24h of hospital stay.

RECOVERY TIME

3 days to 2 weeks to return to work. 4 to 6 weeks to return to sport

Implant mammaire, prothèse mammaire, mammoplastie d’augmentation

L’augmentation mammaire est une intervention chirurgicale qui vise à augmenter le volume et embellir la poitrine. Elle permet d’améliorer non seulement la taille de la poitrine, mais aussi sa forme et sa fermeté, afin d’améliorer ou rétablir l’équilibre de la silhouette. Il s’agit d’une des interventions de plus pratiquée en chirurgie esthétique, avec un taux de satisfaction très élevé.

Sont bonnes candidates à une augmentation mammaire :
– Les femmes qui présentent une hypotrophie mammaire (seins de petite taille) après leur période de développement
– Les patientes qui présentent une malformation ou asymétrie mammaire (p. ex. seins tubéreux)
– Les femmes qui présentent des seins « vidés », suite à un amaigrissement important ou après leur accouchement.
– Les femmes qui désirent une silhouette plus proportionnée et attractive, qui se sentiront plus à l’aise et mieux dans leur peau après une telle intervention

A ce jour nous disposons de trois méthodes efficaces et reconnues pour effectuer une augmentation mammaire :

1- Les implants mammaires
2- Le transfert de graisse autologue (lipofilling)
3- L’augmentation composite

Parfois certains gestes sont proposés au même temps que l’augmentation mammaire, notamment un lifting mammaire (pour les seins tombants), une lipoaspiration de la région axillaire (bourrelets ou glande ectopique axillaire) ou une modification de la taille du mamelon ou de l’aréole.

TECHNIQUES

L’augmentation par implants

Les implants mammaires se différencient par :

Leur forme : ronde ou anatomique (forme en poire ou en goutte)
Leur enveloppe : lisse, texturée ou en mousse de polyuréthane
Leur contenu : en gel de silicone, en sérum physiologique ou silicone léger (B-lite)
Leur volume : variable en fonction du résultat désiré et de la corpulence de la patiente

Ils peuvent être posés devant ou derrière le muscle pectoral, ainsi qu’en effectuant une combinaison de ces deux plans (Plan Dual). L’intervention peut être pratiquée depuis une incision sous le sein (sous-mammaire), au pourtour inférieur de l’aréole ou au niveau de l’aisselle.

Chaque choix d’implant, d’emplacement et de cicatrice comporte des avantages et des inconvénients. Toutes ces différentes possibilités vous seront expliquées par votre chirurgien, qui vous orientera sur le meilleur choix en fonction de vos désirs, de votre état de santé et de votre anatomie.
Les implants sont soumis à des contraintes et pourront avoir besoin à un moment donné d’être remplacés. Cette durée peut être très variable (en moyenne 10-15 ans) mais un changement prophylactique n’est plus conseillé avec les implants de dernière génération.

L’augmentation autologue par transfert de graisse ou lipofilling

Grace à cette technique votre poitrine peut être augmentée de manière modérée (maximum un bonnet de différence par séance) avec votre propre graisse et sans utilisation d’un quelconque corps étranger. Idéalement il s’agit d’harmoniser un corps peu proportionné, en diminuant les éventuels excès graisseux et en augmentant le volume des seins. Elle implique une lipoaspiration des parties excédentaires (abdomen, cuisses, flancs, …) et une réinjection de la graisse ainsi obtenue. Après une phase initiale de résorption (3 mois) la graisse réinjectée qui survit est intégrée dans les tissus à vie. En fonction du volume désiré, plusieurs séances peuvent s’avérer nécessaires.

Par rapport à l’augmentation par implants elle présente les avantages suivants :

– Pas de prothèse, donc pas besoin de changement en cas d’usure de celle-ci
– Résultat très naturel visuellement et au toucher
– Cicatrices minimes, de quelques millimètres
– Grande versatilité pour traiter des asymétries
– Harmonisation de la silhouette (bénéfice comparable à une lipoaspiration)
Ses inconvénients sont :
– Maximum un demi voire un bonnet d’augmentation par séance
– Variabilité du résultat en fonction du taux de résorption (environ 40%)
– Nécessite une bonne zone donneuse
– Nécessite un suivi radiologique post-opératoire

L’augmentation composite

Cette dernière technique combine les deux précédentes et donne des résultats très naturels mais au même temps très impressionnants en un seul temps opératoire. Un implant de taille modéré est utilisé pour donner la plupart du volume et pour projeter les seins en haut en en avant. La graisse viendra elle camoufler ces implants et donner un aspect très naturel à la poitrine. Il s’agit d’une technique sûre et très fiable, moins dépendante de la résorption de la graisse que le lipofilling isolé.

TYPE D’ANESTHESIE

Habituellement anesthésie générale, une anesthésie locale avec sédation intraveineuse est possible dans certains cas

DUREE DE L’INTERVENTION

1 à 2h

TYPE DE SEJOUR

Ambulatoire ou 24h d’hospitalisation

TEMPS DE GUERISON

3 jours à 2 semaines pour retour au travail. 4 à 6 semaines pour retour au sport et disparition de l’enflure résiduelle. 3 mois à 1 an pour amélioration des cicatrices et aspect définitif.